Baking up a Bathscrub

Presents whoop. Gotta love presents.

Unless of course we are talking about a present you secretly hate but have to pretend you totally love because it obviously cost megabucks.

Oh and the whole present thing isn’t so hot when its Christmas Eve and you still haven’t found a fabtastic gift for your favourite dad.

And its definitely less whooptastic when you’re moving house next week and your best ever friend gifts you a huge and fairly creepy stuffed Bison head that you will now have to pack into a box and move across town ( or strategically lose with unbelievable speed and so jeopardise you friendship).

Ok so that last one hasn’t actually ever happened to me but I’m just saying, if it did it would put a dampener on the whole present thing,  you know.

Since I started aiming zerowastewards presents have definitely been different.

Sometimes different as in, more stressful – eg scouring a charity shop for something, anything your mate would like for her birthday yesterday . Golden rule.  One does not go last minute 2nd hand shopping with purpose. 2nd hand is all about the browsing and the unexpected treasures.

Different as in,  more fun – tickets to the sort of thing we would have talked about going to but then forgetten about.

And usually different as in – far more tasty – mainly because when all else fails we gravitate to edible presents. No waste to landfill if you eat it all. 😉

One present idea I liked so much I stole from Lucy over at Lulastic and the Hippyshake was a homemade body scrub packaged in a Retro teacup. Its perfect because even if the recipient hates the body scrub at least they get to keep the cup at the end.

I tweaked Lucy’s recipe, using sugar instead of salt and playing with the scents but the basic idea is the same and its super simple.

IMAG1476

Home Made Body Scrub

Ingredients

One cup of coconut oil (I found this in my local Turkish corner shop in a glass jar but its also available on line.)

One cup of caster sugar

Plus scent

The petals from one rose head and a teaspoon of homemade vanilla essence. (I make my vanilla essence by soaking a whole pod in rum for 4 weeks and then keep topping up for, like, ever)

Or

A handful of lavender leaves and heads all crushed up as fine as possible.

Method

This is very complicated so listen up. There will be a test at the end.

  1. Grind your chosen scent to little fragrant bits
  2. Thoroughly mix your oil and sugar. The oil has the consistency of butter so this bit is a little like making a sponge cake. With this in mind I will pass on the advice my baking mate Russ once provided.“Beat that butter like you’ve never beaten before. No, harder!  That’s pathetic! Why are you stopping!? Keep beating! BEAT GIRL BEAT ! Oh for god’s sake give me the fork.”The first time I made this I hand mixed with a fork. It was bloody hard work and the end result was… lumpy.The next time I wised up and used my food mixer.  It beats much better than me and I figure coconut oil and sugar are both edible so what’s stopping me? The result was fab, proper creamy and professional. I definitely advise the food mixer method. Less wrist pain, more present mojo.
  3. Stir in your chosen scent
  4. Pop the mixture into a vintage teacup you found at the market for 50p
  5. Plonk a matching/mismatching saucer on the top and tie with a bit of ribbon.
Tea cup wrapping

Tea cup wrapping

Bosh!

Obviously you can tell you mate it took hours to prepare and the cup cost mega bucks at the local Hipster shop if that’s the way you roll but for some reason I can’t help blurting out how ridiculously cheap and easy it was to make. My friends always seem to forgive me – hopefully because it looks so lovely.

I’m thinking about doing some herby ones next time using rosemary or lemon or some such things. I guess anything that smells good and isn’t a skin irritant would work brilliantly.

As Lucy says this stuff is so lush on your skin you don’t need any other products and I always make a spare cup for myself. Its honestly the only shower/bath product I actually use nowdays except shampoo and conditioner.

Everyone’s a winner! Thanks Lucy

Leave a Reply

